Windows 7

A place to swap ideas, share your hobbies, pass on hints and tips and discuss how you spend your free time.

Moderators: DJKeefy, 4u Network

User avatar
jewel
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Posts: 8473
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:09 pm
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 167 times
Gender:
United Kingdom

Windows 7

Post by jewel » Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:32 pm

Just got a new PC with windows 7....phenomonal!! Seem really fast and slick...once we got the broadband downloaded finally!! Has anyone else had experience of this new system yet? :)


I don't have a plan......so nothing can go wrong!

Image

User avatar
marvin-carrie
Member
Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 6:47 pm
Location: Milton Keynes
Been thanked: 1 time
Gender:
United Kingdom

Post by marvin-carrie » Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:30 pm

I have been using 7 for the last six months very good lots of new features will run your old programs without any bother just tell it which version to use. Starts quicker using less resources and good for the small laptops

Marvin

Bulldog
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: Harlow, Essex

Post by Bulldog » Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:30 pm

I'm waiting for Windows 7 to come out in three weeks before buying a new laptop, as in the UK it,s not yet Available. I currently use Vista which drives me nuts,:?:?

User avatar
Horus
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Posts: 7931
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:59 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 3481 times
Been thanked: 2535 times
Gender:
United Kingdom

Post by Horus » Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:08 pm

Windows 7 does not come out for release in the UK until October 22nd although Beta versions will be about.
Bulldog, just make sure that if you buy one before that date that the supplier is offering the free upgrade from Vista to Windows 7, most suppliers are aware that people will be waiting, so they are all offering this upgrade for free to maintain sales. Just make sure that it has Vista Premium or Professional as the installed operating system in order to qualify, some do not offer the upgrade with Vista Basic.
There are some good deals out there at the moment as they are trying to get rid of existing stocks with the pre-loaded Vista, I will probably avail myself of one of them in the morning :)
Image

User avatar
DJKeefy
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 10777
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 805 times
Been thanked: 1813 times
Gender:
Egypt

Post by DJKeefy » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:34 am

Just installed Windows 7 Ultimate and it seems ok, PC is running fast, I did a fresh install since i had to buy another hard drive after my other one was corrupt so bad after yet another electric problem here in Luxor. got a UPS coming on saturday.

All my programs and hardware work ok, only 1 fault so far is that the wireless connection does not show any internet connectivity, i like the blue flashing lights with XP so i knew if a page was loading or my downloads were still going.
Image

User avatar
BBLUX
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Posts: 7100
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Winter in West Bank, Luxor and La Vienne, France in Summer
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 556 times
Gender:
France

Post by BBLUX » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:41 am

It seems there is no upgrade path from XP, only from Vista. Now that is a bummer because the full version is more than double the upgrade price!!
Image

Life is not measured by the breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away.

User avatar
jewel
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Posts: 8473
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:09 pm
Has thanked: 286 times
Been thanked: 167 times
Gender:
United Kingdom

Post by jewel » Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:33 pm

I just got a friend from Manchester who is in the business to do mine - he put it on the mainframe and its great!! No problems at all - still got windows XP on the laptop :oops:
I don't have a plan......so nothing can go wrong!

Image

Bombay
Royal V.I.P
Royal V.I.P
Posts: 1990
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Luxor
Has thanked: 1794 times
Been thanked: 1696 times
Egypt

Post by Bombay » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:24 pm

I have installed on my pcs and its working very well. You need to do a fresh instal onto an empty drive as recommended.
R

User avatar
Horus
Egyptian God
Egyptian God
Posts: 7931
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:59 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 3481 times
Been thanked: 2535 times
Gender:
United Kingdom

Post by Horus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:16 pm

The interesting thing about this new Windows 7 is the clean install or upgrade options.

If you purchase a retail version, then it ships with both 32 & 64 bit options.
If you buy the OEM upgrade, then you have to specify the version you are using i.e. 32 or 64 bit, you don’t get both.

Microsoft have been offering a ‘Free’ upgrade to Windows 7 for all purchasers of new computers with a Vista Home Premium or above operating system installed and purchased between June 2009 until the end of the year. (applies to UK) Vista Home Basic is not eligible for the free upgrade.
You have to pay the handling charge for the ‘Free’ upgrade of £12.76 (or at least mine was) which will be sent to you sometime after the October 22nd release date in the UK. (still waiting and the postal strike is not helping matters)

Now here is a question, most new laptops recently sold in the UK have been promoted as having 4 Gigs of memory, excellent, but when you ask what version of Vista they have pre-installed it is usually the 32 bit version. Fair enough, but 32 bit can only effectively allocate 2 Gigs of memory to any application, so logic must surely say that when people upgrade their current ‘Vista’ to ‘Windows 7’ a lot of users would like to install the 64 bit version as this can allocate 4 Gig of memory to an application.

However, when you register online for your ‘Free’ upgrade you are asked which version you would like and if you say 64 bit you are told that it does not match the version on your computer!

Upgrades do not do a clean install option and 64 bit upgrades will not upgrade a 32 OEM bit version.

OK, I accept that most user will not really have a problem with this, unless like myself they use CAD programs, but it is worth knowing about, as in the future the 64 bit option will almost certainly become a requirement.
Image

User avatar
DJKeefy
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 10777
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 805 times
Been thanked: 1813 times
Gender:
Egypt

Post by DJKeefy » Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:42 pm

BBLUX wrote:It seems there is no upgrade path from XP, only from Vista. Now that is a bummer because the full version is more than double the upgrade price!!
The version I installed give me a choice to upgrade or do a fresh install (i had windows XP before)
Image

  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post
  • Windows 10
    by HEPZIBAH » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:46 am » in Suggestions and Help Enquiries
    20 Replies
    4201 Views
    Last post by Horus
    Mon May 30, 2016 12:52 pm
  • Windows ten help
    by Dusak » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:24 am » in General Discussions and Rants
    7 Replies
    284 Views
    Last post by John Landon
    Sat Sep 09, 2017 1:09 pm
  • Windows 7
    by Horus » Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:35 pm » in General Discussions and Rants
    9 Replies
    244 Views
    Last post by BBLUX
    Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:41 pm
  • Windows 7 Reminder
    by Horus » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:33 pm » in Announcements
    0 Replies
    573 Views
    Last post by Horus
    Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:33 pm
  • Notices on Doors and Windows!!
    by Chocolate Eclair » Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:53 am » in Living in Luxor
    6 Replies
    181 Views
    Last post by Kevininabydos
    Wed Jul 10, 2013 4:17 pm